The series of paintings I’m currently working on is inspired by my reading of Stephen Hawking’s scientific texts on quantum theory and special relativity. Each painting is essentially my way of describing a concept such as particle entanglement or the curvature of space-time. Mr. Hawking wrote that according to our understanding of gravity, “bodies tend to fall together.” I read the sentence over numerous times and was on the point of tears as I first sketched out my own interpretation of  it.

I find these theories and postulates beautiful in their simplicity and ingenuity and recognize that much of the work being done in physics currently must be born out of the creativity of artistic minds willing to visualize the possible universe and make cognitive leaps that can, to the layman, sound like science fiction.

Science is, in our modern understanding, our way of describing the universe: it’s past, future and present. It has taken the place of religion not only in defining what the universe is, but inspiring those who follow it to have faith in theory and principle. Granted, proofs have been found for many theories, but a cutting edge understanding of physical theory requires the mind to take leaps of faith.

I am using religious symbolism, specifically Greek statue, Egyptian mythology and Catholic iconography, as artistic tools to describe my understanding of modern scientific theory in a way that I hope inspires the viewer with a sense of beauty. I am inspired by the quest to understand the origin of life, the role that the human race plays in it and our need to identify with some form of higher power, be it a god or a rational universe.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been reading Stephen Hawking’s books lately. The Universe in a Nutshell inspired these drawings.

